Conseil d’administration

Profils variés et complémentaires

Shawn Day

Administrateur

Shawn Day

M. Day est le président et un administrateur de William Day Construction Limited, une importante société diversifiée de sous-traitance de travaux de surface et d'exploitation minière dans le nord de l'Ontario. Il a plus de 40 ans d'expérience dans les secteurs des services miniers, de la foresterie et des scieries dans le nord de l’Ontario, et a dirigé Gogama Forest Products Limited pour William Day Construction Limited de 1989 à 2007.

Parviz Farsangi, P.Eng., M.Eng., MBA, Ph.D.

Administrateur

Parviz Farsangi, P.Eng., M.Eng., MBA, Ph.D.

Dr Farsangi possède une vaste expérience des opérations et une connaissance approfondie de l'industrie du nickel, avec des antécédents en matière d'engagement auprès des employés et de la communauté. Plus récemment, il a été chef de la direction chez Canadian Royalties. Il est administrateur d'INV Metals Inc. et de Gowest Gold Limited. Auparavant, il a été vice-président exécutif et chef de l'exploitation de Vale Inco Limited, où il était responsable de la direction des opérations des filiales en propriété exclusive de Vale Inco. Avant de se joindre à Vale Inco, M. Farsangi a eu une longue carrière chez Falconbridge Limited. Par la suite, il a été président de Gramercy Alumina LLC en Louisiane et de St. Ann Bauxite Limited en Jamaïque pour Falconbridge Limited.

M. Farsangi a obtenu un doctorat en génie minier de l’Université McGill en 1996 ainsi qu'un M.B.A. de la Queen's University Business School en 1998.

W. Warren Holmes, B.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

Administrateur principal

W. Warren Holmes, B.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

M. W. Warren Holmes est un ingénieur professionnel qui compte plus de 40 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie minière. Il est administrateur principal chez Foraco International SA. De 1964 à 1986, il a travaillé pour Noranda Inc. dans des rôles techniques, de supervision et de gestion, devenant vice-président et directeur général de Pamour Porcupine Mines Limited, une société appartenant à Noranda, en 1985. De 1986 à 2002, M. Holmes a occupé successivement des postes de haute direction chez Falconbridge Limited, dont celui de vice-président principal des opérations minières canadiennes. M. Holmes a auparavant été président de l'Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole (ICM), président du conseil de l'Ontario Mining Association (OMA) et coprésident du conseil de l'Ontario Mineral Industry Cluster Council (OMICC).

Marz Kord, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

Président et chef de la direction et administrateur

Marz Kord, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

M. Kord est un ingénieur minier professionnel avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience progressive dans les opérations minières et la gestion de projets. Avant de se joindre à Wallbridge en 2011, il a occupé le poste de vice-président exécutif, exploitation minière mondiale chez Genivar Inc., une grande entreprise canadienne (maintenant WSP Global), où il a dirigé le développement et la croissance du profil minier national et international de la société. Au début de sa carrière chez Falconbridge Limited, M. Kord a participé aux opérations minières à Sudbury et à Timmins.  L'expertise de M. Kord comprend la gestion de grandes équipes multidisciplinaires d'ingénieurs et d’opérateurs, ainsi qu'une vaste expérience dans l'élaboration de plans de croissance stratégiques et dans les fusions et acquisitions.

Anthony (Tony) Makuch, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA, ICD.D

Administrateur

Anthony (Tony) Makuch, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA, ICD.D

Anthony (Tony) Makuch est un ingénieur professionnel (Ontario) avec plus de 35 ans d'expérience en gestion, opérations et technique dans le secteur minier, ayant géré de nombreux projets au Canada et aux États-Unis, de l'exploration avancée à la production. Il est actuellement président et chef de la direction de Kirkland Lake Gold Inc. Auparavant, M. Makuch a été président et chef de la direction de Lake Shore Gold Inc. de 2008 jusqu'à son acquisition par Tahoe Resources en 2016, où il est devenu vice-président exécutif et président des opérations canadiennes. De 2006 à 2008, M. Makuch a été vice-président principal et chef de l'exploitation chez FNX Mining Company Inc.

Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en sciences (avec distinction en sciences de la terre appliquées) de la University of Waterloo en Ontario, ainsi que d'une maîtrise en sciences de l'ingénierie et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Queen's University en Ontario. Tony est également diplômé de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et possède le titre ICD.D.

Michael Pesner, CPA, CA

Administrateur

Michael Pesner, CPA, CA

M. Pesner est le président d’Hermitage Canada Finance Inc., qui se spécialise dans la prestation de services de conseils financiers, de fusions et acquisitions, et de désinvestissement auprès de diverses sociétés. Entre 1977 et 2003, il a occupé plusieurs postes, dont ceux d'associé, d'associé principal et de membre du conseil d'administration de KPMG à Montréal. Il apporte une vaste expérience en matière de comités d'audit et de gouvernance en tant que membre du conseil d'administration d'entreprises dans divers secteurs. Il est administrateur principal chez Le Château Inc., administrateur chez Weed MD Inc. et administrateur chez Smart Employee Benefits Inc.

Darryl Sittler, ICD.D

Administrateur

Darryl Sittler, ICD.D

Ancien joueur de la Ligue nationale de hockey et intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey en 1989, M. Sittler est un homme d'affaires indépendant et un consultant du club de hockey des Maple Leaf de Toronto dans les domaines des relations communautaires et du marketing. Il est administrateur de Frontline Gold Corporation. Darryl est également diplômé de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Alar Soever, B.Sc. Geo.

Président du Conseil

Alar Soever, B.Sc. Geo.

M. Soever est un cadre supérieur et un géologue avec plus de 40 ans d'expérience dans l'exploration et le développement de gisements minéraux, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. Au cours de son mandat de longue date au sein de Wallbridge, il a été président de 2003 à 2011, puis président exécutif du Conseil jusqu'à sa nomination à la présidence du Conseil en 2018. Avant son engagement officiel avec Wallbridge, il a été impliqué à titre de consultant en tant que chef de la pratique portant sur le cuivre-nickel-EGP chez Watts, Griffis, et McOuat. Grâce à ses compétences en matière de développement technique, opérationnel et d'entreprise, il a joué un rôle déterminant dans la croissance de Wallbridge, notamment en dirigeant la scission de deux nouvelles sociétés : Duluth Metals Limited et Miocene Metals Limited. M. Soever représente également sa communauté locale en tant que maire actuel de la ville de Blue Mountains, poste qu'il a obtenu en 2018.

Janet Wilkinson, MIR

Administratrice

Janet Wilkinson, MIR

Mme Wilkinson est une consultante exécutive avec plus de 25 ans d'expérience en matière de conseil, de gestion et d'opérations, tant auprès de grandes sociétés multinationales que de jeunes entreprises en démarrage. Avant d'établir sa pratique de consultation, Janet a été vice-présidente principale des ressources humaines chez IAMGOLD Corporation de 2006 à 2009 et a occupé des postes à responsabilités croissantes chez Noranda Inc. et Falconbridge Limited entre 1988 et 2006.  Janet a travaillé avec plus de 70 entreprises minières et métallurgiques dans 30 juridictions politiques en Afrique, en Europe, en Australie, en Amérique du Sud et du Nord. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en relations industrielles de la University of Toronto.

​​Abonnez-vous pour recevoir des nouvelles

Board Of Directors

Diverse and Complementary Backgrounds

Shawn Day

Director

Shawn Day

Mr. Day is the President and a director of William Day Construction Limited, a large diversified surface and mining contracting company in Northern Ontario. He has over 40 years of experience in the mine services, forestry and sawmilling sectors of Northern Ontario, and managed Gogama Forest Products Limited for William Day Construction Limited from 1989 to 2007.

Parviz Farsangi, P.Eng., M.Eng., MBA, Ph.D.

Director

Parviz Farsangi, P.Eng., M.Eng., MBA, Ph.D.

Dr. Farsangi has an extensive operations background and knowledge of the nickel industry, with a history of employee and community engagement. Most recently, he was Chief Executive Officer of Canadian Royalties. He is a director of INV Metals Inc. and Gowest Gold Limited. Earlier he was Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Vale Inco Limited with the responsibility of leading the operations of Vale Inco's wholly-owned subsidiaries. Prior to joining Vale Inco, Mr. Farsangi had a long career with Falconbridge Limited. Subsequently he was President of Gramercy Alumina LLC in Louisiana and St. Ann Bauxite Limited in Jamaica for Falconbridge Limited.

Mr. Farsangi received a Ph.D. in Mining Engineering from McGill in 1996 as well as an MBA from Queen's University Business School in 1998.

W. Warren Holmes, B.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

Lead Director

W. Warren Holmes, B.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

Mr. W. Warren Holmes is a professional engineer with more than 40 years of experience in the mining industry. He is the Lead Director of Foraco International SA. From 1964-1986 he worked for Noranda Inc. in a series of supervisory, technical and management roles, becoming Vice President and General Manager of the Noranda-owned Pamour Porcupine Mines Limited in 1985. From 1986 to 2002 Mr. Holmes held successive senior management positions with Falconbridge Limited, including Senior Vice-President, Canadian Mining Operations. Mr. Holmes has previously served as President of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy, and Petroleum (CIM), Chair of the Ontario Mining Association (OMA), and Co-Chair of the Ontario Mineral Industry Cluster Council (OMICC).

Marz Kord, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

President & CEO and Director

Marz Kord, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA

Mr. Kord is a professional mining engineer with over 30 years of progressive experience in mining operations and project management.   Prior to joining Wallbridge in 2011, he held the position of Executive Vice President, Global Mining for  Genivar Inc., a large  Canadian firm, (now WSP Global), where he led the development and growth of the company’s domestic and international mining profile.  During the early part of his career with Falconbridge Limited, Mr. Kord was involved in mining operations in both Sudbury and Timmins.  Mr. Kord's expertise includes managing large, multidisciplinary teams of engineers and operators as well as extensive experience in developing strategic growth plans and in mergers and acquisitions.

Anthony (Tony) Makuch, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA, ICD.D

Director

Anthony (Tony) Makuch, M.Sc., P.Eng., MBA, ICD.D

Anthony (Tony) Makuch is currently President & CEO of Kirkland Lake Gold Inc. and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree (Honours Applied Earth Sciences) from the University of Waterloo in Ontario, and both a Masters of Science Degree in Engineering and a Masters of Business Administration from Queen's University in Ontario. Tony is also a graduate of the Institute of Corporate Directors and has his ICD.D designation. He is a professional engineer (Ontario) with over 35 years of management, operations and technical experience in the mining industry, having managed numerous projects in Canada and the United States from advanced exploration through production.

Prior to joining Kirkland Lake Gold, Mr. Makuch was President and CEO at Lake Shore Gold Inc., from 2008 until its acquisition by Tahoe Resources on April 1, 2016, where he became the Executive Vice-President and President of Canadian Operations. Between January 2006 and March 1, 2008, Mr. Makuch was Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer for FNX Mining Company Inc. From 1998 to December 2005 he held progressively senior positions with Dynatec Corporation, including VP, Operations. From 1992 to 1998, Mr. Makuch worked with Kinross Gold Corporation at a number of their North American operations; which included his role as General Manager of the Kirkland Lake Operations at the Macassa Mine and Timmins Operations - Hoyle Pond Mine.
 

Michael Pesner, CPA, CA

Director

Michael Pesner, CPA, CA

Mr. Pesner is the President of Hermitage Canada Finance Inc. which specializes in providing financial advisory, mergers and acquisitions, and divestiture services to a range of corporations. Between 1977 and 2003 he held a number of roles, including partner, senior partner and board member at KPMG in Montréal. He brings extensive audit committee and governance experience as a board member with companies in a variety of industries, including, but not limited to, mining (Richmont Mines Inc.), retail (SAQ - Société des alcools du Québec, Le Chateau) and financial (Fonds Régional de Montréal FTQ). In addition, he is Lead Director of Le Château Inc., a director of Weed MD Inc., and director of Smart Employee Benefits Inc.

Darryl Sittler, ICD.D

Director

Darryl Sittler, ICD.D

A former National Hockey League player and a 1989 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Mr. Sittler is a self-employed businessman and a consultant to the Toronto Maple Leaf Hockey Club in the areas of community relations and marketing. Darryl is a graduate of the Institute of Corporate Directors and is currently a Director of the Frontline Gold Corporation.

Alar Soever, B.Sc. Geo.

Chair

Alar Soever, B.Sc. Geo.

Mr. Soever is a senior executive and geologist with over 40 years of experience in the exploration and development of mineral deposits, both in Canada and overseas. During his long-standing tenure with Wallbridge, he served as President from 2003 to 2011, then Executive Chair until his appointment as Chair in 2018.   Prior to his official engagement with Wallbridge, he was involved in a consulting capacity as Head of Watts, Griffis, and McOuat's copper-nickel-PGE practice. With his technical as well as corporate and operational development strengths, he has been instrumental in the growth of Wallbridge, including leading the spin-out of two new companies: Duluth Metals Limited and Miocene Metals Limited. Mr. Soever also represents his local community as the current Mayor of the Town of Blue Mountains, a post he attained in 2018. 

Janet Wilkinson, MIR

Director

Janet Wilkinson, MIR

Ms. Wilkinson is an Executive Consultant with over 25 years of consulting, corporate and operations experience with both large, multi-national corporations and junior start-up businesses. Prior to establishing her consulting practice, Janet was Senior Vice President-HR for Iamgold Corporation from 2006 to 2009 and held progressively responsible positions with Noranda Inc. and Falconbridge Limited between 1988 and 2006.  Janet has worked with more than 70 mining and metals businesses in 30 political jurisdictions in Africa, Europe, Australia, South and North America. She holds a Master of Industrial Relations degree from the University of Toronto.

Sign Up for News